Corona pandemic

The museum island Schloss Gottorf is open. We have compiled all the important information for your visit HERE. As we are currently only allowed to allow admission to a limited number of guests at the same time, please contact our service before your visit to reserve a ticket: +49 (0) 4621 813 222, service@landesmuseen.sh

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

The extension building – the new centre of the museum island

The “Master Plan for Gottorf” plans an extension building on the east side of the castle, which is planned to be built in 2023/24. It forms the new centre of the museum island between the Horn Foundation museum buildings, the riding hall and the cross stable.

This extension building on the eastern side of the castle will now further develop and implement one of Friedrich IV’s (1671– 1702) visions – thus continuing the architectural history of the castle in the best sense. Within the scope of an architecture competition, the Foundation has decided in favour of the design from Holzer Kobler Architekturen. At the same time, the Schleswig-Holstein State Museums Foundation takes the cultural heritage preservation specifications into account according to which the new building must be clearly differentiated from the old building.

The extension building completes the historical building, blocked by the selection of conservative building materials, but hardly the view of the castle. Rather the opposite: the reflecting facade opens new, unexpected views of the eastern side of the castle. On the other hand, the imposing southern facade remains unhindered.

Well-received, longer stays

A museum needs a place where visitors feel at ease. A place which attracts them to linger for a while after visiting the exhibitions. In practical terms, this also means: rooms for the ticket desk, museum shop, wardrobe, café, WC etc. There are several reasons why such a place cannot be provided in the castle building itself.

In addition to the improvement of the reception and service quality, the building of the extension of the museum areas to the east enables the connection of the different storey levels in the elder east wing and the younger south wing, which makes good sense. Last but not least, this makes barrier-free tours possible.

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Corona-Pandemie

Wir haben wieder geöffnet. Bitte beachten Sie beim Besuch unserer Museen diese Informationen und Vorschriften.


Sie wollen immer auf dem Laufenden sein? Abonnieren Sie einen oder gleich mehrere unserer Newsletter.

schliessen
Springe zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Der Erweiterungsbau – die neue Mitte der Museumsinsel

Der „Masterplan für Gottorf“ sieht einen Erweiterungsbau an der Ostseite des Schlosses vor, der 2023/24 errichtet werden soll. Er bildet zwischen den Museumsbauten der Stiftung Horn, der Reithalle und dem Kreuzstall die neue Mitte der Museumsinsel.

Mit diesem Erweiterungsbau wird nun eine Vision von Friedrich IV. (1671– 1702) weiterentwickelt und umgesetzt – und damit die Baugeschichte des Schlosses im besten Sinne fortgeschrieben. Die Stiftung hat sich dabei im Rahmen eines Architekten-Wettbewerbes für den Entwurf von Holzer Kobler Architekturen entschieden. Gleichzeitig berücksichtigt die Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen die Vorgaben durch die Denkmalpflege, nach denen sich der Neubau deutlich vom Altbau abgrenzen muss.

Der Erweiterungsbau komplettiert das historische Gebäude, versperrt durch die Auswahl von zurückhaltenden Baustoffen aber kaum den Blick auf das barocke Schloss. Im Gegenteil: Die reflektierende Fassade eröffnet neue, unerwartete Blicke auf die östliche Schlossseite. Die imposante Südfassade dagegen bleibt ungestört.

Gut ankommen, länger bleiben

Ein Museum braucht einen Ort, an dem Besucher ankommen können. Ein Ort, der dazu einlädt, nach dem Besuch der Ausstellungen noch ein wenig zu verweilen. Konkret bedeutet das auch: Räumlichkeiten für die Ticket-Kasse, Museumsshop, Garderobe, Café, WC etc.. Einen solchen Ort kann es aus mehreren Gründen im Schlossgebäude selbst nicht geben.

Neben der Verbesserung der Empfangs- und Servicequalität ermöglicht der Bau die Erweiterung der Museumsflächen nach Osten, was sinnvoll ist, um unterschiedliche Etagenniveaus des älteren Ostflügels und des jüngeren Südflügels miteinander zu verbinden. Das ermöglicht nicht zuletzt barrierefreie Rundgänge.

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen